The Life Unlived

I have recently become acquainted with a beautiful elderly woman named Jackie.

She made me think long and hard about the life unlived. I have often resolved to work hard to live each second of my life fully… And it’s not easy. She makes me feel so many varied emotions. For that I could not be more thankful, as people like Jackie provide me with some of my most treasured experiences in life.

This is for Jackie: a woman who has had many pains and many gains and is so lovely to me on her every raw and human facet.

The life unlived is struggle
The life unlived is loss
The life unlived is waiting for something you’re not sure you’ll come across.

The life unlived confuses
The life unlived dumbfounds
The life unlived is floating, your feet never quite touch ground.

The life unlived is a question mark
The life unlived is a darkened heart
It makes one wonder oftentimes how not to fall apart.

The one thing to remember about the life unlived you’ve got:
It’s yours from the start
It’s yours til the end
And you’ve only got one shot.

Any thoughts?